Time for change

Saturday night I ran (well, completed) the National Capital 5K race. It was pathetic. I ended up walking half of it because of a cramp and finished in 34:08. I’m embarrassed by this sad performance and never want this to happen again. As I was walking the course, I kept thinking about failure and how everyone in the race was motivated, excited, determined and ready to run. I was not.

I was humiliated, wanted to hide, and kept thinking about my wonderful, and generally supportive boyfriend making fun of me because his 65 year old Mum with osteoperosis can run faster than me. Of course he didn’t make fun of me, but I could hear it in my head. I also thought about “The Biggest Loser” and how there are these determined individuals who are excessively overweight, but with training and support they are able to accomplish great things, including running a 5K with far less effort and pain than me. I’m not overweight and I’ve always been fairly active and able to compete in athletic challenges, but I realized on Saturday that it isn’t about your size, it’s about your preparation and actually being committed to achieving a goal.

I was not prepared, committed or ready for anything on Saturday, but I’m going to change that. This blog is about seeing a difference. I’ve posted my first failure, but I’m ready to get back on track and actually achieve something. For the past couple of weeks I’ve been reading about the Paleo life and diet and have been waiting for the right time to try Mark Sisson’s 21 day Total Body Transformation. I’m not one for fad diets (or any diets) but I like the principles of this one. I will try to keep track of the changes I’m making and post them. First things first, I need to purge all the crap from my cupboards and fridge. Second, I will see what kind of fitness goal I can make, measure, and achieve in 21 days.

Leave a Reply

