Cleaning house

Image

Does anyone else dread the weekend because they are faced with a mountain of dishes, laundry, and other housekeeping chores? I remember every Saturday growing up was dedicated to doing the chores, but since leaving home I’ve tried to manage my housekeeping in a way that allows me to enjoy my weekends. Unfortunately, since having a baby it means my house is a disaster and I feel increasingly stressed by the idea of cleaning, organizing, and getting the house into shape.

Part of the challenge with my house is we bought a “fixer-upper” and moved in the same week that our daughter was born. Before moving in we needed to change the insulation in the house because asbestos was found in the attic, and once in the house, we needed to change the bathroom sink, vanity, light, and toilet. Given that we literally just had a baby, we did the changes in stages and spent weeks with random bathroom fixtures hanging out in the hallway or littering the backyard.ย 

The move also marked the official merging of two lives and all of our worldly belongings. For anyone who has gone through this process, it is disasterous… especially when moving into a smaller home. I had a 1500 sq ft. townhouse and my partner moved from his home of the last 15 years and brought his car hobby. Our basement is filled to the rafters, our driveway packed with 4 cars, 2 trucks and a trailer, and our backyard scattered with car parts, a snowmobile, a canoe, and assorted debris from our first attempt to “organize” the basement.

There is a part of me that is a little embarrassed (well, really embarrassed) by the state of our house and yard. We are very nice, normal people, who actually want to take pride in the look of our home, we just aren’t there yet. In the meantime I have an incredible amount of stress and anxiety every evening and weekend, knowing that I have a lot of work to do.

So, I’m looking for advice because I have no idea how or where to even begin. Send me your tips and ideas for organizing kitchens, bathrooms, bedrooms, and laundry rooms. Help me organize my jewelry, Tupperware, kids toys, and mail. The goal is to find economical solutions to everyday mess, or recommendations for how to optimize the space in a small kitchen, bathroom and laundry room!

2 thoughts on “Cleaning house

  1. You can do it! And I’m sure you’re making great progress.
    Following is just my own personal experience, but if there’s any experiences that can help you then I’m very thankful. I had clutter problems and had to develop the habit of tidying everything immediately as I go. I removed ‘I’ll do it in a second’ and said, I’ll just do it now / put it away now / wash it now. I found that this small habit made a huge difference to my home and to my stress levels. Now I’m training my boyfriend to do the same. ๐Ÿ™‚

    For clearing clutter, I used the ‘Yes, No, Maybe?’ approach. Tackling one small area at a time (Kitchen counter? Bathroom drawer?) I go through the items in a timed period (I am going to try and race to get this done in fifteen minutes!) and sort them rapidly into Yes, No or Maybe piles depending on whether I feel they’re essential to my daily life RIGHT NOW. Then the yes pile goes back into the drawer where it lives (making sure that bathroom items are in the bathroom, kitchen items are in the kitchen etc), the no pile goes straight into the donation / trash bag, and the maybe pile is reconsidered with the same strategy. I take care not to dwell on the NO pile, as the first instinct is often correct. This is the same for the Maybe pile but in your case I understand that some items could be useful for the baby later.

    Whatever happens, it sounds like you’re on the right track! Keep up the great work! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

